Warning – Phishing eMail about Intuit Products

| September 21, 2009

A quick note – there are a lot of phishing emails coming out lately that look like they come from Intuit. Some talk about a security tool that QuickBooks online users must download, some talk about a survey to fill out after your purchase of an Intuit product. Please be careful, these may be phishing emails trying to get malware on your computer or access to your accounts.

If an email says it is from Intuit but isn’t from “Intuit.com” then don’t trust it. Intuit will not ask you to download things or enter account information. Note that any links or email addresses in a message may be “spoofed” so that they look correct on the surface, but have a different URL underneath.

You can see more about this at http://support.quickbooks.intuit.com/support/. If you have an email that you are suspicious about, don’t click on the links. Forward it to security@intuit.com.

Updated 11/17/2009: Another round, this time they talk about information stolen from the Intuit database, and downloading a special web browser plugin for “QuickBooks Update”. The email address (in the copy I received) is software.quickbooks.intuit.com but if you dig in you will see that there are other addresses and URL’s involved, some that trace back to locations outside the US. Again, Intuit doesn’t send out emails like this.

Share This Article

Tags: ,

Category: General Tips

About the Author (Author Profile)

Charlie Russell is the founder of CCRSoftware. He’s been involved with the small business software industry since the mid 70’s, focusing on inventory and accounting software for small businesses. Charlie is a Certified Advanced QuickBooks ProAdvisor.

Share This Article

Comments are closed.